top of page

The Golden Chain of Spiritual Transmission

The Naqshbandi Golden Chain is a lineage of spiritual masters of the Naqshbandi Sufi order going back to the The Prophet Muhammad (sal). It is a chain in which each Master was given Ijazah or permission to transmit the knowledge he had received to the next generation of students in the traditional manner of Sufi transmission.

The Naqshbandi Chain, as different from all other Sufi lineages, is unique in that it stems from the first Caliph, Abu Bakr Siddeeq (ral), whome the Holy Prophet Muhammad (sal) said about “Never was anything revealed to me that I did not pour into the heart of Abu Bakr.”

The below mentioned are the names and biographies of the Sufi Masters who consist of the Spiritual Lineage of Moulana Sheikh Nazim going back to the Holy Prophet Muhammad (sal):

  1. Prophet Muhammad ibn Abd Allah

  2. Abu Bakr as-Siddiq

  3. Salman al-Farsi

  4. Qasim ibn Muhammad ibn Abu Bakr

  5. Jafar as-Sadiq

  6. Tayfur Abu Yazid al-Bistami

  7. Abul Hassan Ali al-Kharqani

  8. Abu Ali al-Farmadi

  9. Abu Yaqub Yusuf al-Hamadani

  10. Abul Abbas, al-Khidr, alayhi-s-salam

  11. Abdul Khaliq al-Ghujdawani

  12. Arif ar-Riwakri

  13. Khwaja Mahmoud al-Anjir al-Faghnawi

  14. Ali ar-Ramitani

  15. Muhammad Baba as-Samasi

  16. as-Sayyid Amir Kulal

  17. Muhammad Baha’uddin Shah Naqshband

  18. Ala’uddin al-Bukhari al-`Attar

  19. Yaqub al-Charkhi

  20. Ubaydullah al-Ahrar

  21. Muhammad az-Zahid

  22. Darwish Muhammad

  23. Muhammad Khwaja al-Amkanaki

  24. Muhammad al-Baqi bi-l-Lah

  25. Ahmad al-Faruqi as-Sirhindi

  26. Muhammad al-Masum

  27. Muhammad Sayfuddin al-Faruqi al-Mujaddidi

  28. as-Sayyid Nur Muhammad al-Bayadouni

  29. Shamsuddin Habib Allah

  30. Abdullah ad-Dahlawi

  31. Khalid al-Baghdadi

  32. Ismail Muhammad ash-Shirwani

  33. Khas Muhammad Shirwani

  34. Muhammad Effendi al-Yaraghi

  35. Jamaluddin al-Ghumuqi al-Husayni

  36. Abu Ahmad as-Sughuri

  37. Abu Muhammad al-Madani

  38. Sharafuddin ad-Daghestani

  39. Abdullah al-Fa’iz ad-Daghestani

  40. Muhammad Nazim Adil al-Haqqani

  41. Muhammad Adil ar-Rabbani

​ Listen to the Biographies of the Grandhsheiks on Youtube on

bottom of page